latest archives guestbook about me links

email

04.12.2002 - 8:43 p.m.

Friday
Wow, it’s Friday already. I’ve been so busy lately time has flown by. It’s like my life was on super-slo-mode, frame by boring frame just clicking by, and now it’s all frenetic and whooshing along like those scenes in Koyaanisqatsi. But without the cool music. My theme song, lately, would be more like that cartoon scrambling-running sound they always made on The Flintstones.

Something else that is Little Yellow Different about my life is that I’ve been driving on a daily basis. I suppose that doesn’t sound very exciting, but for the last two years I’ve either been 1) riding a bus to work or 2) unemployed. Now I’m all commuter chick, driving my phat ride (and by "phat ride" I mean "wimpy-ass Toyota Corolla").

The commute isn’t too bad, unless there’s a Sonics game and I have to snake through eighty billion million people trying to get to the Key Arena, but the part that really shits the bed is that I don’t have parking. In the past it only made sense to pay for JB’s spot in our lot, and now there’s nothing open. So when I get home from work, I have to circle the blocks nearby over and over, inevitably ending up parking somewhere on the outer rings of Saturn. (You’d think my parallel parking skills would be rapidly improving, too, but NOOOOO. Sometimes I get it right, and sometimes I spend what seems like 45 minutes inching back and forth and worrying that the guy walking his dog across the street is getting a hernia from laughing at me.) And every time I head out the door in the morning, I'm always all forgetful and like "Hmmm, did I end up by Titan or Iapetus?"

That was a Saturn moon joke. Get it?

BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

(long uncomfortable pause)

Aaaaanyway. Tomorrow I go to see Marty the Almost Certainly Gay Hairdresser, because my hair is in a very sorry state, all shaggy and root-y. I always let too much time go by in between appointments. It seems like my hair goes through this weeklong stage of uncertainty, where it's just a little on the evil side...then the very next week it's just given up all hope and officially looks like ass. God, and I can finally tell him yes, when he asks if I found a job - that was getting sort of pitiful.

Marty: "So! Found a new job yet?"
Me: "Erm...no. Um, but I DID donate a...kidney! Yeah! A WHOLE KIDNEY. What have YOU been doing lately, Hair Boy?"

:::

PS. In happy news, the house sellers have accepted our final offer (Regis?), and we're doing the inspection on Wed. This along with the new job is the reason that my entries have sucked like Carmen Electra lately. I miss writing goofy stuff that made me laugh, and I promise to get back to that soon. In the meantime, is there any interest in a notice list? Let me know.

PPS. You guys rule! Go you!

Massage

go back ::: forward

04.10.2002 - Nothing says low-stress like offering total strangers an obscene lump of cash for a house that may or may not be infested by killer bees.
04.06.2002 - Will a slow song ever fill me with that mix of terror and fervent hope again?
04.05.2002 - I'm already starting to worry about the potential size of my ass.

0 comments so far.

I have moved. - 1.03.2005
Obviously, a work in progress. - 12.27.2004
Happy holidays! - 12.24.2004
Listen, I am not a complete dick, it's not like I want Joe to die alone surrounded by cats or something. - 12.23.2004
Plus I am convinced my butt is extra big when it's upside down. - 12.22.2004

yay, diaryland