latest archives guestbook about me links

email

06.17.2003 - 6:36 p.m.

Tuesday

My dad and his wife Gloria are coming to visit us this weekend.

I'm a little nervous about this.

My parents divorced when I was 2 or so, and for whatever reason I eventually lost all contact with my dad. When I was around 22, my paternal grandfather (whom I had never met) startled the hell out of me by calling to say my father was going to have triple bypass surgery and would I like to come see him in the hospital. Freaked, I declined, and that was that for several more years until JB and I moved to Vegas and on a whim I sent my dad a postcard with my email address on it.

Hail email, with its mighty ability to allow you to mull over your words, to put your best face forward, to be intimate while still providing that safe pillow of distance the phone does not allow; its power to create a relationship in just a few short exchanges. The perfect medium for an estranged father and daughter, both blessed with a gift for e-gab.

So he and his wife (they married a few years after his divorce) visited us once in Las Vegas, staying in a hotel. They came to our wedding 2 years ago at Orcas Island. And there have been multitudes of chatty emails, mostly about mundane subject like home improvement projects.

It should be fine. I'm sure it will be fine. I just feel rattled and worried about being a good host and paranoid and well, kinda shy.

But it will be fine. Really. Right? Right.

:::

A friend of mine smuggled me illicit drugs last week. AC&Cs, baby. From Canada. With the goodness of caffeine coupled with the creaminess of codeine. Take that, evil sinus headaches. Oh yeah.

:::

Every now and then I forget that I ride the short bus when it comes to HTML-wrangling, and I undertake some website endeavor that ends up being a completely frustrating time suck. (Two activities that seem to make time fly by, whirling-clock-style: clothes shopping, and farting around with web crap.) My lack of skillz in this arena is a big part of the reason why the layout on this page has changed exactly never since I first put it together. Are you sick of those big-ass lips? Too freaking bad, because messing with the template huffs a fat dong.

Anyway, I have a .com website that houses family photos and whatnot. It's a fairly weak effort overall; I'm sporadic about updating it, and other than the photos there's not much there. So last night, for some bizarre reason, I decided to change the hierarchy of the site. And oh my GOD what a holy hell of a mess I made.

Imagine the HTML equivalent of a carefully constructed house of cards tumbling in all directions. Links flung apart and dangling pitifully, scores of missing images, pages that obstinately refuse to load. Unfuckingreal.

If I had a single damn clue about what I was doing, I'm sure I could fix it in a snap. As it is, I spent half the night giving myself a raging headache as I frantically re-linked and patched and Krazy glued things back together and it's STILL a giant pile of spaghetti.

Assuming I ever manage to restore the damn thing, I'll link to it for you. Because, you know, I'm sure you can never get enough pictures of JB and I doing such exciting activities as standing around and/or petting Dog.

:::

From: JB
Date: Mon Jun 16, 2003 5:01 PM US/Pacific
To: Sundry
Subject: RE: ALSO BOBOLI FOR DINNER! (?)

---

From: Sundry
Sent: Monday, June 16, 2003 5:02 PM
To: JB
Subject: Re: ALSO BOBOLI FOR DINNER! (?)

NO BOBOLI. BOBOLI TWO NIGHTS IN A ROW=BAD.

---

From: JB
Date: Mon Jun 16, 2003 5:10 PM US/Pacific
To: Sundry
Subject: RE: ALSO BOBOLI FOR DINNER! (?)

So what are you bringin home darlin'?

---

From: Sundry
Sent: Monday, June 16, 2003 5:14 PM
To: JB
Subject: Re: ALSO BOBOLI FOR DINNER! (?)

Jamaican jerk chicken wraps with mango salsa.

---

From: JB
Date: Mon Jun 16, 2003 5:15 PM US/Pacific
To: Sundry
Subject: RE: ALSO BOBOLI FOR DINNER! (?)

Oh my god are you serious?! Please come home now!!!!

---

From: Sundry
Sent: Monday, June 16, 2003 5:19 PM
To: JB
Subject: Re: ALSO BOBOLI FOR DINNER! (?)

Dear JB,

If I came home now, there would be NO wraps, as the wraps have not been served yet.

Thank you for your understanding in this matter.

MANAGEMENT

It is very, very hard to stay on a diet at Workplace.

go back ::: forward

0 comments so far.

I have moved. - 1.03.2005
Obviously, a work in progress. - 12.27.2004
Happy holidays! - 12.24.2004
Listen, I am not a complete dick, it's not like I want Joe to die alone surrounded by cats or something. - 12.23.2004
Plus I am convinced my butt is extra big when it's upside down. - 12.22.2004

yay, diaryland