latest archives guestbook about me links

email

01.01.2003 -

Wednesday

It's the day of resolving; have you made a list? If yours is anything like mine, it starts right off with the top of the nation's hit parade: I Will Get In Shape This Year. I will go to the gym, even if it's dark and I'm tired and hungry and every molecule in my body is screaming to go home and become one with the couch. I will eschew, not chew, Workplace's more fattening dinners and lunches in favor of greens and fiber! I will look good in the fake leather halter top I bought once in a fit of optimism/insanity.

I will, I will, I will.

I will get rid of this confounded cold before the end of 2003. I will continue to spend happy weekends rooting around in Half Price Books like a truffle-hunting pig. I will try to help make Workplace succeed. I will wear 'smoky' eye makeup at least once. I will mince around in front of JB in sleazy lingerie and clear plastic heels. I will do something that scares me. I will go on an incredible vacation.

I will drink more water.

I will try not to take so much ibuprofen. I will paint my nails more often. I will make at minimum one non work-related friend. I will go to the doctor. I will try and write in this journal more often.

I will somehow, without actually having to be a TWoP recapper or talented/seasoned journalist, get my diary linked on Damn Hell Ass Kings.

I will not let my face get sunburned this summer. I will be gracious about turning 29 and not make big annoying squawks about being dangnear30. I will make JB take ballroom dancing lessons with me. I will plant a magnolia tree. I will go hiking and camping more often.

I will floss.

:::

It's a dreary day for the first of the new year, here in Seattle. The rain is coming down in giant relentless sheets; wipers-on-high rain, hydroplaning-across-lanes rain.

It's the second time in the last couple weeks I've driven across the 520 bridge with whitened knuckles and furrowed brow - last Friday we had a record windstorm, which whipped the waters of Lake Washington so waves blew across the bridge. Inching across, I could feel the movement beneath me, this disconcerting sway.

When I got home, the power was out. We ordered a pizza, and I lit every candle in the house, and we sat in front of the flickering glow and ate dinner and told stories. And when we had almost become used to the candlelight and cool darkness of the house, all of the electricity came back on with a sudden burst of light and noise and we gazed wide-eyed at each other, startled and smiling.

Happy New Year.

go back ::: forward

0 comments so far.

I have moved. - 1.03.2005
Obviously, a work in progress. - 12.27.2004
Happy holidays! - 12.24.2004
Listen, I am not a complete dick, it's not like I want Joe to die alone surrounded by cats or something. - 12.23.2004
Plus I am convinced my butt is extra big when it's upside down. - 12.22.2004

yay, diaryland