latest archives guestbook about me links

email

10.17.2002 - 7:18 p.m.

Thursday

Thank you for responding to this survey. Your feedback is very important to us, and I promise we will consider each request carefully.

I sent this out about a thousand times in the last couple days at work. It's permanently photo etched on my brain, I think. Hooray for boring tasks.

JB wrote me today:

What kind of population are you in that your peers love this Ellen switcher chick so much. I think Mac folk are on weird drugs always thinking, 'Ohh we're so eccentric! We like stoned out chicks representing us on TV.'

I don't really get it, either. Funky Boss is all obsessed with this girl. What is it about her half-lidded gaze that appeals to hardcore Mac geeks?

Microsoft's own Bizarre Chick of the moment: Beth Goza. How embarrassing must THAT be? Can you imagine strolling into work, knowing your entire department has peed themselves laughing at a parody of your journal?

The same article says: 'Online journals give a billion people who can't write and who have nothing to say the means to publish.'

Well, yeah. It's fucking incredible, really. I love reading journals. I love having a journal, and blathering away even when I have nothing to say. It's this amazing thing that's happened on the web, the ability to experience other people's lives and their feelings and their writing. (But Beth, you maybe should have thought about using a fake name.)

Parody of Sundry's Journal:
"My dog is like sooooo funny and my cat is sooooo fat and OMG cramps! Byeee!"

Speaking of writing - I've been toying with the idea of participating in NaNoWriMo. I say toying, and I mean "vaguely thinking about it once or twice in the shower or while driving home from work." I'd like to do it. But I don't think I could pull it off. I'm not saying that because I'm a big poopy naysayer, I actually have solid reasons behind that statement. Such as:

1. "Plot", "character development", and "correct grammar" are all fuzzy, foreign terms to me.
2. I go through lengthy gaps of time where I can't think of anything to post to this diary, so how exactly could I manage to write 50,000 words by the end of November?
3. And how MUCH is that, anyway? Is that like, a Bible-length of words, or a Sweet-Valley-High-length?

The other thing I've got going against me is that I have the memory of a housefly, and my brain is typically operating at maybe 8% capacity. "Write what you know"? I know nothing more than what I am right this minute. And so...that eliminates any characters who are not completely autobiographical.

Chapter 7.
She looked up from her computer screen, brow furrowed. She hoped people responded to the survey, because their feedback was important to her.

Hm. Needs some work.

go back ::: forward

0 comments so far.

I have moved. - 1.03.2005
Obviously, a work in progress. - 12.27.2004
Happy holidays! - 12.24.2004
Listen, I am not a complete dick, it's not like I want Joe to die alone surrounded by cats or something. - 12.23.2004
Plus I am convinced my butt is extra big when it's upside down. - 12.22.2004

yay, diaryland