latest archives guestbook about me links

email

2002-02-18 - 12:43 p.m.

Adventure! On! Mt.! Rainier!

So JB did this monster hike Saturday with some buddies and they were caught in some nasty weather, total whiteout conditions. JB had to use his GPS and compass to blindly navigate the rest of their way to the Muir shelter. Thank god it wasn't me! Or everyone would have died, because I would have led us in a really big circle or something! PLUS, JB pulled off a successful midnight Stealth Pee, which involved a Powerade bottle and some impressive-sounding maneuvering. Did you ever know that you're my heeeeeeeerrrooooooooo?

He's always doing Fear Factor stuff like that, then comes home and asks me how my day was. I'm like, "Um, well the cat had the biggest water beard ever. We're talking three drops! Also I bought acorn squash."

JB:

:::

I had this ugly dream last night. A dam had broken, a river was rising out of control, and muddy, scary water was fast approaching as I huddled inside a house, looking out the window. I decided that I wasn't going to die pressed up against the ceiling, running out of air, eventually drowning - so I ran out on the balcony, figuring it would be better to be swept up in the raging flood. And then the water stopped, lapping just at my feet. And I woke up. Brrr.

So I did some searching on what the hell that meant, with the speed of the internet. First I checked out what good old Freud thought, but he pissed me off.

Me: "The water?"
Freud: "Penis."
M: "The house?"
F: "Vagina."
M: "The drowning aspect?"
F: "Penis-and-vagina. Or, possibly, vagina-and-penis."

Shut UP, Freud. Damn, with your repressed-ass sexuality self.

Then I found this site, which despite its mild cheesiness ('You have entered the mysterious and fascinating world of dreams') did not automatically play an Enya .wav file from the homepage, which is my new Gold Standard for dream interpretation websites.

Here's what I learned: "To see water in your dream, symbolizes your unconscious and your emotional state of mind. To see muddy or dirty water in your dream, indicates that you are wallowing in your negative emotions. To dream that water is rising up in your house, signifies your struggles and overwhelming emotions."

Jeez. It gets worse: "To dream that you are drowning, signifies that you are overwhelmed by emotions or repressed issues that are coming back to haunt you."

But, WHEW: "If you survive the drowning, you will rise to a higher position of wealth and honor."

I choose to interpret this as: JB and I are gonna win Lotto! Totally! Right ON, what a bitchin' dream!

Oh, and if you see a Walrus? It signifies protection and your display of dominance in some situation or relationship. Just so you know.

go back ::: forward

Did you want to read about:

2002-02-16 - a corporate crapout, manatee
2002-02-15 - a stranger in the mirror
2002-02-14 - dishpan diarrhea, snag


ARTIFACT: Last year's hike to Muir.
And he still wanted to go THIS year. Freak.

0 comments so far.

I have moved. - 1.03.2005
Obviously, a work in progress. - 12.27.2004
Happy holidays! - 12.24.2004
Listen, I am not a complete dick, it's not like I want Joe to die alone surrounded by cats or something. - 12.23.2004
Plus I am convinced my butt is extra big when it's upside down. - 12.22.2004

yay, diaryland