latest archives guestbook about me links

email

07.19.2004 - 6:10 p.m.

Monday

Whenever I come across someone's web journal where they announce a writing hiatus, I go through a helpless mix of embarrassing reactions:

Like, who cares, man? I can't believe you assume I'm just, like, haaaanging around online waiting for you to update [except I am, sort of], and stuff. I'm not, like, some GROUPIE or something [except I am, just a little bit].

Is "hiatus" some fancy word for "I'm taking time off to shag Colin Farrell until he needs a dick transplant"? If so, I hate you.

NOOOO! What will I do? What will I read? COME BAAAACK!

On a less pathological note, I also think to myself, wow, this person has people who actually care whether or not his/her words are tossed out to sea on a regular basis. Such a person should feel blessed, really.

Does it sound presumptuous as all hell to say that's how I feel? Well, fuck it, and fuck my self-consciousness that wants to hide under a rock and cover these words with "I know I do suck and all," and "Despite my horrendous suckage", and "Did I mention the part where I suck", because I DO feel blessed for the fact that you've been reading. Thank you.

I'm going to take a break from posting written entries for a while. If you're interested in the why, I'm not really sure how to explain without sounding completely retarded. How about this: if life's a box of chocolates, the truth is sometimes you get stuck with that dark-coated fucker with the gross pink shit inside, and you shouldn't chew with your mouth open while you're choking it down, because really, no one wants to see that.

(Did I just seriously use cherry nougat as a bad metaphor, resulting in a message both obscure and melodramatic? Diaryland needs a gong!)

I'm like Carl in Fargo, though ("Oh, fuck it, I don't have to talk either, man! See how you like it. Just total fuckin' silence. Two can play at that game, smart guy. We'll just see how you like it. Total silence."), so instead of retiring to my "hiatus" with quiet dignity, I think I'll be posting photos now and then. Because that's the way, uh huh, uh huh, I like it (uh huh uh huh).

Thanks again for reading, and I'll talk to you soon. MWAH!

Remember I mentioned the headstone JB had made? From the granite that we salvaged from, um, an auto accident?

Lake Margaret. This was a SUCK-ass hike, but what a pretty lake.

You cannot tell, but I slowly morphing into one giant mosquito bite here.



last ::: next

54 comments so far.

I have moved. - 1.03.2005
Obviously, a work in progress. - 12.27.2004
Happy holidays! - 12.24.2004
Listen, I am not a complete dick, it's not like I want Joe to die alone surrounded by cats or something. - 12.23.2004
Plus I am convinced my butt is extra big when it's upside down. - 12.22.2004

yay, diaryland