latest archives guestbook about me links

email

01.19.2004 - 7:20 p.m.

Monday

You know what components make up a very good Sunday? Excellent company, a shopping trip to Bed Bath & Beyond, Michael's, and Half Price books, caramelized onions on croquettes with figs and Gorgonzola cheese, and dulce de leche ice cream. Individually, any of those would be quite nice, but collectively you've got yourself a fine day indeed.

When Chiara showed up at my house yesterday, Dog greeted her ecstatically, wriggling with joy. "Who's a good dog? Who's a good dog?" said Chiara, gallantly ignoring the wads of fur already sticking to her clothes.

"You can call her Dirty Sanchez if you want," I said with a wink. "I don't….yeah, I don't think so," she replied.

We did our shopping, had a wonderful meal, and also got all craftified. Chiara whipped out a glue gun, proving herself the Craft Master, and in short time produced a lovely photo frame with pretty artificial peonies arranged around its edges. While she did that, I slowly and clumsily sewed the chewed-off leg back onto Dog's stuffed armadillo, pricking my finger exactly four times.

Then we moved on to what is in my opinion the most satisfying craft project in the whole world: marble magnets. Seriously, it is so easy, and they are so cool.

 

Magnets!

You know what makes a cool magnet? Benicio, man. That's a lotta white china.

Also: Aragorn!

She also helped me pick out fancy cute new towels for the guest bathroom. See how neat, with the embroidery and whatnot?

Okay, but when I put them in the bathroom, they looked sort of…wrong, somehow.

The walls have a vaguely mauve/neutral stripey deal going on, and the floor has the same bland color tone in a checked pattern. I have a couple of prints in there that have purple tones, so I thought the purple towels would be Just The Thing. But they seem to stand out too much, or something. Should I get a darker shower curtain? Paint the molding around the window? WWJD?

:::

I went to the gym tonight, and found myself in the Dark Cardio Room of Confusion. It's a huge room with tons of machines that's kept in this twilighty dimness. I guess it's so you don't feel self conscious, because you can barely see anything. At any rate I plugged away on the boring-ass elliptical for 50 minutes, which is like a world record for me. Which totally means I can have more ice cream, right?

last ::: next

20 comments so far.

I have moved. - 1.03.2005
Obviously, a work in progress. - 12.27.2004
Happy holidays! - 12.24.2004
Listen, I am not a complete dick, it's not like I want Joe to die alone surrounded by cats or something. - 12.23.2004
Plus I am convinced my butt is extra big when it's upside down. - 12.22.2004

yay, diaryland