latest archives guestbook about me links

email

01.03.2004 - 1:35 p.m.

Saturday

It's been snow snow snowing the last few days, a rarity in our neck of the woods, and it's just the right amount to coat everything in a soft blanket of whiteness and quiet without actually making the local roads too dangerous. There's enough to make a snowman, biff JB on the head with a hastily assembled missile, and laugh at the cat mincing her way around the yard.

Flakes are still falling today, and JB, who is possibly clinically insane, is off diving this afternoon while I stay curled in a warm robe drinking coffee. I keep looking out the window and marveling at how transformed our neighborhood looks - pillowy, serene, magical.

Our snow arrived on New Year's Eve, which JB and I spent at a wonderful restaurant ordering every damn item on the menu including a criminally expensive (but oh! so good!) bottle of wine. At midnight, we toasted each other with champagne and gazed out the window at Seattle's fireworks show. A perfect evening, really.

When we first started talking about our New Year's plans, a few weeks back, JB sort of groaned and asked why I always wanted to do something special. Why can't we just take it easy and watch the ball drop on TV like most people, he wanted to know.

Well, because I'm sure we'll come to a point in our life soon enough where we'll be content to sit propped against each other on a couch, barely staying awake in time to whoop halfheartedly at the stroke of midnight, shuffling off to bed shortly thereafter. In our fucking SLIPPERS, probably.

We may be lame, but we're not that lame yet.

Plus, I told JB, it's all your fault. You're the one who decided New Year's Eve would be a good time to propose.

It was in the final moments before Y2K, at a party hosted by the company I was working for at the time in Las Vegas. As everyone chanted down the last seconds, and streamers were flying everyone, and people were screaming, in the midst of everything there was JB on bended knee, holding up the most beautiful ring I'd ever seen. We didn't even exchange words, I just hugged him tight and snurfled tears all over his suit jacket and put that ring right the hell on my finger and we slow danced to some song the band was playing and people were taking pictures of us and I didn't give a shit if every plane was falling out of the sky right then because I was so happy.

So, you know, a precedent was set. The moment must be savored, once a year, even if it's while bellowing out karaoke of dubious quality in a redneck bar in Oregon's tiniest backwoods town (2002), or freezing our asses off snowshoeing on Mt. Rainier (2001).

This year it was savored along with some decadent crème brulee. Perhaps not the best start to a healthy year of lean muscle mess, but fuck it, the only resolution I'm making to myself this year is to appreciate what I have, if it that means appreciating the holy hell out of a gooey dessert, so be it.

Here's to 2004. Hope it's a good one for all of us.

go back ::: forward

7 comments so far.

I have moved. - 1.03.2005
Obviously, a work in progress. - 12.27.2004
Happy holidays! - 12.24.2004
Listen, I am not a complete dick, it's not like I want Joe to die alone surrounded by cats or something. - 12.23.2004
Plus I am convinced my butt is extra big when it's upside down. - 12.22.2004

yay, diaryland