latest archives guestbook about me links

email

11.08.2003 - 4:45 p.m.

Saturday

JB is down in Coos Bay elk hunting (NOT using the BAMT for some elk-truck derby like I somehow implied previously, which caused him to get all huffy and grump about how they don't use the truck to hunt, they use it to scout, and blah blah blah elkcakes), so I have the house to myself this weekend.

Since I was a single girl on Friday night with my options for the evening's entertainment spread richly before me, I spent the evening curled up on the couch watching Army of Darkness. Then I totally kicked it up a notch by cracking open an Amstel Light. Party!

I don't often give myself a lot of credit - I mean, let's just say I'm extremely "modest" as that lets us avoid delving into the issue of self esteem, because ha ha, we don't want to go THERE (talk to the haa-aand!). But every now and then I think, hey Sundry, I would totally date you.

Sundry, you're a chick who watches Army of Darkness and says the line "Good…bad….I'm the guy with the gun" right along with Ash? I would totally date you.

I always thought I was sort of appealing, dating-wise, to a certain type of guy. A guy who can quote the Simpsons all day long. Who maybe has a collection of Fangoria issues filling up some boxes in his closet. Someone who's seen about fifteen They Might Be Giants shows. Definitely a Home Star Runner fan.

As it turns out, JB is not that guy (well, he does think Trogdor is pretty funny). If I say to him, "my cat's breath smells like cat food", he'll just look at me weird. I read in his company newsletter a while ago that Bruce Campbell had visited their campus, and when I said "JB! Bruce Fucking Campbell came by your office?", he was all "Who?".

WHO?!?!

JB is like devoid of any geek culture whatsoever. He's never seen Star Wars, for instance. He owns no comic books, has never seen a Troma flick, doesn't know that "and wreck my car" is the part that comes after "A come on (come on)".

Lucky for me, JB apparently found me dateable for non-dorky-movie-quoting reasons. I love JB for his sense of humor, intelligence, and who he is as a person, and I like to think he feels the same way about me.

Still, sometimes I like to just crush on myself a little so my "We just cut up our girlfriend with a chainsaw. Does that sound fine?" side doesn't go unappreciated. You know how it is.


go back ::: forward

16 comments so far.

I have moved. - 1.03.2005
Obviously, a work in progress. - 12.27.2004
Happy holidays! - 12.24.2004
Listen, I am not a complete dick, it's not like I want Joe to die alone surrounded by cats or something. - 12.23.2004
Plus I am convinced my butt is extra big when it's upside down. - 12.22.2004

yay, diaryland