latest archives guestbook about me links

email

10.23.2003 - 1:52 p.m.

Thursday

I'm going on another trip this weekend. My aunt and I are going to travel together to visit the area my grandparents used to live in. If you look on this map and find Manistique on the Upper Peninsula, that's where we're going.

My grandparents lived near a small town called Gulliver for many years, in a house right on Lake Michigan. I have wonderful memories of spending summers and Christmases there when I was growing up. The beach, the woods, being with my grandparents who I loved dearly, those were happy times.

 

This is looking out towards the lake from the wooden deck that surrounded the house. You could see the water from every window in the house, just about.

My grandfather and a wee me. I loved all the snow in the winter. Of course, I wasn't the one who had to do any shoveling or scary driving. Hooray for being a kid!

Check that out. Was I styling in those knee socks, or what? And the big geeky glasses? And just be thankful you can't see my teeth - I was born with like 381 too many and had yet to reap the benefits of years of vigorous orthodontia.

Anyway, that jeep was my favorite thing ever. In the summer we would take trips on the beach with it, or up the long gravel road that led to their house. The jeep is the reason I love the smell of gasoline to this day.

My grandparents and I.


They moved to Corvallis, Oregon, shortly after my mother and I moved there, and it's been over, let's see…seventeen years or so since I've been to Michigan. I'm overwhelmed by the fact that in just a few days, I'll be going back to the place that gave me so much joy and so many good memories.

My grandparents are both gone now, and I miss them. I feel so privileged to be able to see where they lived one more time and remember them as they were all those years ago.

So I'm flying to Chicago on Friday to meet my aunt (flying! again! the packing! gah!), and we're hitting the road together. I'm bringing Kleenex, because I know I'll need it. My return flight is next Tuesday, and I'll talk to you after that. Have a wonderful week/weekend!


go back ::: forward

JournalCon 2003

12 comments so far.

I have moved. - 1.03.2005
Obviously, a work in progress. - 12.27.2004
Happy holidays! - 12.24.2004
Listen, I am not a complete dick, it's not like I want Joe to die alone surrounded by cats or something. - 12.23.2004
Plus I am convinced my butt is extra big when it's upside down. - 12.22.2004

yay, diaryland