latest archives guestbook about me links

email

01.19.2003 - 3:10 p.m.

Sunday

It's an impossibly quiet afternoon, and I'm feeling dreary and restless. JB left town this morning and now the dog and I are moping around heaving great sighs and staring into space.

I often feel lonely and bored when JB first leaves before I adjust to the change in routine (and begin merrily eating things directly from a can and living in giant ratty T-shirts and stuff). And it doesn't help that it's Sunday, you know?

["In the end, it was the Sunday afternoons he couldn't cope with, and that terrible listlessness which starts to set in at about 2:55, when you know that you've had all the baths you can usefully have that day, that however hard you stare at any given paragraph in the papers you will never actually read it, or use the revolutionary new pruning technique it describes, and that as you stare at the clock the hands will move relentlessly on to four o'clock, and you will enter the long dark teatime of the soul." - Douglas Adams]

Plus, I'm sick. Poor poor pitiful me, all hacking and germy with no one to bring me ice cream. I'm actually pretty sure it's bronchitis, having Done Some Research online. Early symptoms include a dry, non-productive cough, one site says, Later, an abundant mucus-filled cough. Hey, that's me! Abundant AND mucus-filled!

I tried going to a movie earlier - one I've seen before, you can probably guess which one - but had to leave about an hour into it because it occurred to me that having to listen to my muffled seal barks was probably driving the people around me completely batshit.

Stupid lung crud. You made me miss all the cool battle scenes.

One thing I don't understand about theatres is why it was decided that the perfect snack, the ultimate in enhancing the movie experience, is popcorn. Why not something quiet, like pudding? Sitting there watching the previews and hearing everyone chewing made me think of being inside a giant cage of locusts or something. Why are people always hungry at movies anyway? Didn't they have lunch/dinner? This dark, larval feeding - why?

Oh, and have you seen the Terminator 3 preview? "She'll be back"? Heh.

I was reading a journal which had a link to the amazingly fascinating Web Fridge Project. This is deeply appealing to me, although I can't describe it as well as Artichoke Heart does.

So let's get it on, web-journal-fridge-exposing-wise. Go take a picture of your fridge and tell me about it, right now. Oh, you may scoff. You may claim to have "better things to do". But one thing is certainly clear - I DON'T.

Fridge, The Front

The two notable characteristics about the front of my fridge are probably the bottle cap opener from the House of Blues in Las Vegas, which has been a perfect champ about cracking many a cold frothy beverage, and the hard-to-see bendy magnet characters on the upper left who are supposedly ascending Mt. Rainier (there's a teeny flag at the top that says '14,400 ft') but are currently placed in a brazen doggy style position.

Fridge, The Inside.

Let's see here - pretty typical stuff. You've got the unidentified Mystery Object in tupperware, the mounds of lettuce and veggies dying a slow death on the bottom shelf, the 7-up for the Crown Royal, the tonic water for the Bombay Sapphire, the I Can SO TOTALLY Believe It's Not Fucking Butter, the keg of CoffeeMate, the assorted beers.

Well. That was exciting. Man, I need to towel off after that.

Okay. This afternoon WILL end, at some point. Eventually it will be the evening, and I have season 3, volume 3 of Sex in the City, I have Y Tu Mama Tambien, I have Margaret Atwood's Lady Oracle, and I have a multiple options for booze. And if I get too lonely, there's always the phlegm-laden ribcage-rattling cough to keep me occupied.

No one can say I don't know how to party.

go back ::: forward

0 comments so far.

I have moved. - 1.03.2005
Obviously, a work in progress. - 12.27.2004
Happy holidays! - 12.24.2004
Listen, I am not a complete dick, it's not like I want Joe to die alone surrounded by cats or something. - 12.23.2004
Plus I am convinced my butt is extra big when it's upside down. - 12.22.2004

yay, diaryland