latest archives guestbook about me links

email

2002-02-27 - 10:48 a.m.

Yesterday I drove about a half hour north of town to visit my family. It's been a while since I've actually driven anywhere (and yes, I still haven't renewed my license - shut urrrrrp); my car normally sits sad and dormant on the street, collecting dings and birdshit. I own a '97 Corolla, the Plain Yoghurt of cars. It's very utilitarian, lacking niceties such as a CD player, cruise control, a ferchrissakes clock, etc.

JB has a 4Runner. That's what I was driving yesterday. I love driving the 4Runner, despite the fact that I have to do an extremely ungraceful scramble-leap to get into it. It just feels all rugged and buff. (Even though it has no get up and go whatsoever. Also the horn is a big pussy. "Meep! Excuse me, can I get through? If that's ok?") And it's got a CD player. I love to sing along with my music at the very top of my voice. I am, of course, aware that my singing voice is so terrible it would cause a listener's head to actually explode, Scanners-style. That's why I reserve it for solitary drives, showers, and military defense exercises.

I do feel like kind of a fraud when I drive JB's rig. It's got a vanity plate, for one thing. With our last name on it. I'm just not a vanity plate person. My motto is: 'Please don't pay an undo amount of attention to me, it makes me feel squirrely' (note to self - get better motto). And there are a couple stickers on the back, one being a diver's logo - the red square with the diagonal white stripe - and the other being an NRA member logo. I am not a diver (I'm waiting for that breathable water deal like they had in The Abyss, cause that seemed cool, except for the choking and freaking out part). Nor am I prepared to deal with a rabid antigun activist, threatening me with some kind of non-gun weapon. "Guns kill forty billion zillion children a year! Now take off the sticker or I will totally hit you with this rubber band!"

If you live in the Seattle area, you know that yesterday was a fine fine day indeed. It was sunny and clear and felt nothing at all like February. I drove to Edmonds, where my aunt lives. Her house has a beautiful view of the Olympics, the water, ferries going back and forth. My mom also came over and we all went to lunch. It was fun. I don't see them enough.

I was gifted with a set of silverware. Real silver, the kind you bury in your backyard in times of war. A setting for 12 that belonged to my grandmother. It's a wonderful thing to have. I hope I get the chance to use it in the future. Because, no lie, JB and I use mainly paper plates. They have flowers and shit on them, but they're still paper plates. Less dishes, you know?

:::

Hokay, so if you were at my house with me right now, you would be all, "Sundry, is that VASELINE on your face? The hell?"

And I would be like "Why don't you cram it, buster, sideways."

Oh, I wouldn't really. I'd offer you some fresh coffee, you know that. Anyway, I have vaseline slimed all over my face because I am turning into some sort of lizardlike creature. Winter has sucked me dry of all that is moist and wrinkle-resisting. I figured of all the overpriced salves I own, vaseline was the most gooey, therefore surely the most effective.

I heard the gelatinous-face-with-cat-hairs-stuck-to-it look was de rigueur this season.

:::

I'm screwing around with the typeface for this journal. What do you think of our serif-ic pal Times Roman? Easier to read? Or are you more of a sans fan? Let me know.

go back ::: forward

Did you want to read about:

2002-02-25 - I think it is entirely possible I have gained 10 pounds.
2002-02-22 - we're hitting the road this morning
2002-02-21 - He held up a leather jacket that was so dorky looking it burned my retinas

0 comments so far.

I have moved. - 1.03.2005
Obviously, a work in progress. - 12.27.2004
Happy holidays! - 12.24.2004
Listen, I am not a complete dick, it's not like I want Joe to die alone surrounded by cats or something. - 12.23.2004
Plus I am convinced my butt is extra big when it's upside down. - 12.22.2004

yay, diaryland